How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts

How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts

by Officia_Sean
0 comment 77,750,078 views

While Telegram has a phone number-based authentication system, you can easily use the app without sharing any of your contacts. Telegram will still let you add users, and others can find you using your username.

Telegram Without Sharing Your Contactsy

default, Telegram syncs your contacts to its servers. When a new contact joins, you get a notification about it. Your contact will also come to know that you’re using Telegram.

If you want to keep your identity private, you can stop the Contact Sync feature. Telegram will still continue to work as it normally does. You can add users using their username, or you can create a separate contact in the Telegram app.

How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts

Here’s how it works on the Telegram app for Android and iPhone.

Stop Contact Sharing in Telegram on Android

  • You can stop contact syncing in Telegram for Android from the Settings menu. To get started, open the Telegram app on your Android smartphone and tap the three-line menu icon from the top-left corner.
How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts
  • Here, choose the “Settings” option.
How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts
  • Go to the “Privacy and Security” option
How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts
  • Tap the toggle next to the “Sync Contacts” option.
How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts
  • Now, Telegram will stop syncing new contacts, but the contacts that are already synced will still be available in the Telegram app.To delete app synced contacts, tap the “Delete Synced Contacts” button
How To Use Telegram Without Sharing Your Contacts
  • .From the pop-up message, select the “Delete” button to confirm.
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Telegram has now deleted all contacts from your in-app contact book. When you go to the “Contacts” section, you’ll find it empty

Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone

The process of disabling contact sync is slightly different in the Telegram app for iPhone.

  • Open the Telegram app on your iPhone and go to the “Settings” tab.

Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Navigate to the “Privacy and Security” section.
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Scroll down and choose the “Data Settings” option
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Toggle on the “Sync Contacts” option to disable the contact sync feature.
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Telegram will now stop uploading your local contact book with its servers.
  • To delete all synced contacts, tap the “Delete Synced Contacts” option.
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • From the pop-up message, select the “Delete” button to confirm.
Stop Contact Sharing In Telegram On IPhone
  • Now, when you go to the “Contacts” tab in Telegram, you’ll find that it’s empty.
Is The Article Beneficial For You? Rate this post

Leave a Comment

Related Posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy